GOES-R Team to Receive NASA Group Achievement Award

Congratulations to Fangfang Yu, Robert Iacovazzi, Boryana Efremova, and the rest of the Geostationary Operational Environmental Satellite-R Series (GOES-R) team on their selection to receive the National Aeronautics and Space Administration’s (NASA) prestigious Group Achievement Award. Yu, Iacovazzi, and Efremova are remote sensing scientists supporting the Satellite Meteorology and Climatology Division within the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration’s Center for Satellite Applications and Research.

Scheduled for presentation on October 25, 2017 at NASA’s Washington, D.C., headquarters, Agency Honor Awards, including the Group Achievement Award, are approved by the NASA Administrator and presented to individuals or groups who have distinguished themselves through outstanding contributions to the Agency’s mission. The award’s citation reads, “For excellence resulting in the successful GOES-R satellite launch, providing the nation’s foundation for the world’s highest quality weather monitoring and forecasting.”